India appoints Ajay Kumar as Defence Secretary

File Photo: Dr Ajay Kumar

Dr Ajay Kumar, a 1985-batch Indian Administrative Service officer of Kerala cadre, has been appointed as Defence Secretary in the Ministry of Defence.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved the appointment of Dr Kumar, who will replace Shri Sanjay Mitra, a 1982-batch IAS officer of West Bengal cadre, upon the completion of his term on Aug 23.

The ACC has also cleared the appointment of Subhash Chandra, Special Secretary (Defence), as Secretary (Defence Production) in place of Dr Kumar. Chandra is a 1986-batch IAS officer of Karnataka cadre.

File Photo: Subhash Chandra

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.